Posted by: Dr. G | 27-March-2010

Welcome to the Land of Smiles!

As promised, today I add the second blog: Living and Working in Thailand. Personal stories and tips to overcome the challenges of living abroad in a completely different cultural environment. Highly biased by my own journey (which is now entering its seventh year already!), but hopefully useful for you. Your feedback will be highly appreciated. Here we go:

I love Thailand!

I love the people!

Thai people are generally friendly, considerate, and widely known for their incomparable hospitality. In my view, Buddhism has a very positive impact on life in this country, and there’s a lot you can learn from Thai people about being happy without necessary being wealthy. And people are not too strict with rules, but rather flexible which makes life easier in many areas and more relaxed.

I love the diversity!

Especially in the metropolis of Bangkok you will find millions of people from all ways of life. Nowhere else have I experienced such a melting pot of nationalities and different cultures –  and at the same time encountered such a high level of tolerance.

I love the climate!

I simply like it warm. I enjoy the sun shining almost every day, and I don’t mind the rainy days. People told me I will miss the season change, but so far, this has not been the case, and I’d be surprised if it ever will be.

Is this paradise?

No.

There is good and bad everywhere. Everything comes at a price, and for instance the things that you may appreciate in your free-time might give you hard times at work. And generally, being a foreigner in a country that is so completely different from your home country is definitely not easy at all times. In Thailand, I have experienced the highest highs and the lowest lows in my life.

This blog deals with the difficulties you may encounter at work and in your private life while abroad. And I wish to assist you in finding ways to overcome the difficulties and live life to the fullest in a wonderful country.

Chok dii khrap!

Leave a Reply

Categories

